Hans-Georg Evers At The Nec Convention 3/23-24/12

TwoTankAmin

Fish Connoisseur
Reaction score
As some may know I am a bit of a pleco nut. I keep and spawn several different plecos, mostly Hypancistrus. I have been breeding zebra plecos for about 5 years now and they are one of my favorite fish. So for me being able to hear Hans speak was a real treat.

Firstly, he is a great speaker, both entertaining and informative. For the most part we get our information from folks who have never been in a wild habitat, nor collected or studied the fish in the wild. So being able to hear from, an afterward talk with somebody who has made it a very exciting evening for me.

One of the things that really impressed me was when he talked about the collection of zebras. He has actualy gone out with the locals who invited him to try his hand. here is my best recollection of how he described the experience.

Firstly, he explained that zebras live pretty deep, from 5 to 15 meters down (for the Americans here that is 16.4 to 49 feet deep). He also said that the current was unbelievable. Hans has had lots of scuba diving experience, but the locals do not have this gear. They use a compressor in the boat attached to long air lines. the divers use rocks as weights to get down to where the fish are. Because they are so deep it is virtually pitch black down there. So one sees almost nothing and everything is done by feel. The way they collect is the feel for "cavelike" spots and either reach in or overturn rocks and feel for the fish and catch them by hand. Hans said he could barely stay in place holding on with both hands for dear life and wished he had a third arm. But the divers are collecting by feel using one hand while using the other to hold on.