Guppy Tail Problems

Rueon

Reaction score
Hello to one and all.

I am new to the hobby, but I have an established tank of approx 10weeks with some experience of Tetra and Pentazona's. I have posted this query on another site and I was seeing what other advice may roll in.

We bought 2 Guppy's and a Siamese to brighten up the tank a little, however after the first day one of them had died. He had a bent spine and was definitely stressed out always hovering near the top of the tank, and his tail fin was slightly damaged..

The second one has lasted over a week, so we introduced 2 more Guppies. The original Guppy who has been in the tank approx 8days started to show signs of tail fin damage. Then over the past couple of days I noticed he had holes in his Tail fin, and obviously this morning his Tail fin is looking very bad.

I have monitored the water conditions and the Ammonia and Nitrites where o.k up to a couple of days ago (just after the 2 new guppy introduction). I have carried out 2-20% water changes in the past 9days (one last night with filter clean also - Used the aquarium water) I have treated the tank with ESha tail and fin rot medicine, but this has not worked (obviously).

Can anyone help with what the problem may be, and should we Euthanase the fish to prevent further contamination to the other two Guppy's.

Many Thanks

Rue............

I wouldn't advise keeping betta with guppys, as betta will nip there fins and even eat them.
Guppys are very prone to bacterial finrot.
More worried about the fish that died with a bent spine, did you buy him this way.

Hi Wilder.

Thanks for the reply to my question.

The one with a bent spine (curved) was we think already like that, however we can not be too sure. Is this a major issue?

My wife noticed the curvature of the spine after the first night in the tank, and then it died the next night. I did notice that at 01:00 when I wen to bed that night it was still swimming at the top of the tank.