Gourami's and Tank Questions

Ldy-Icedragon

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am new to tropical fish and I just started my tank 2 weeks ago. I have 3 male dwarf Gouramis and 1 Ruby Shark in a 5 gallon tank. (Don't worry I plan on upgrading the size very soon). After only two days I was a huge fan of my little Gourami's, they starting eating their flakes right off of my finger and now the Ruby Shark does it too :) Anyways when I bought the Gourami's I wasn't told that the males would fight. Mine fight a lot but it doesn't seem very serious, no one seems over stressed. They usually just flip their bodies at each other a few times and then swim away. Well I've read online that males shouldn't be kept like that, but sometimes can be. Will my guys be ok? Would they be better off in a 10 gallon or a 20 gallon tank?

~Danielle

You are going to need a 30 gallon minnimum and prefferably as soon as within a couple of weeks.

Though the 3 male dwarfs would manage in a 20, the shark will not. Rubies become increasingly aggressive and territorial as they mature. They do not tolerate similar-looking fish and should be kept in nothing under 30 gallons.

Also, your tank has only been set up for two weeks. Has it been cycled fishless? The gouramies, at least, are a terrible choice for maturing a tank. They get stressed easily (especialy when cramped) and are prone to all sorts of infections. In a 5 gallon, the stress would eventualy kill all the fish (if the deteriorating water quality if you ahven't already cycled doesn't kill them first).