Gouramies Are Breeding - Advice Needed!

FroggyFish

Reaction score
I have two female and one male Dwarf Sunset Gouramies. One of the females and the male (Michael) have been showing 'courting' behaviour in the last few days, so I was excited at the prospect that they may breed.

Last night, I noticed a pinkish white ball of what looks like a ball of eggs, under the bubblenest that Michael has made. I presume that one of the female has therefore spawned, as now Michael is guarding the bubblenest where the eggs are. He is quite aggressive toward both the females and chases them away all the time from where the eggs are.

Having read your Dwarf Gourami factsheet on breeding, am I right in thinking I should now remove the females to a different tank while Michael is guarding the eggs? And when should I remove Michael also?

I am new to Gourami breeding - it's the first time I've got them to breed, and it's very exciting!
Any information/advice/tips will be greatly appreciated as this is new to me.

I have all three Gouramies at present in the main tank, with my other fish (9 Cardinal Tetras, 6 Black Phantom Tetras & 2 Bristlenose Plecs, oh and 4 Amano shrimps!). It is a 125 litre planted tank. I have a quarantine tank, which we are going to set up today.

Thanks in advance.

You really should have bred them in a seperate tank, unless you are going to remove every fish out of the tank you will be lucky to get any to survive.Your best bet now is, Keep checking the nest, the fry should hatch around 24/30 hours after they have been spawned, but will stay in the nest fo ra further day or two. Gently try to scoop the fry and nest in a jar or tub to move them to the tank. Leave mum and dad behind.