Full Tank Clean

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

neesymac

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I have had my tank for 4 months now and it's starting to look a little bit grubby - I clean the tank everytime i do a water change (once a week) but this green stuff keeps on sticking to the glass

My questions are

Would it ever be ok to do a full water change, wash the gravel and silk plants

If i put the fish in a large plastic fish tank how long could they stay in there without a pump?

Thanks

I'm new to Tropical....not even got the tank yet...but used to keep a reef aquarium...

I may be wrong, but I would think doing a full water change and cleaning the gravel would just about destroy your bio system and bring all sorts of poisoning problems to your fish. I imagine cleaning the silk plants wouldnt be a problem though....

Thanks Gav - I forgot about that - It's just that since i put bogwood in my tank about 1 1/2 months ago it has gone a bit yellow and i need to clean the gravel somehow.

I have a syphon but i have no idea how to use it as i ripped the packaging with the instructions on it

I have been too embaressed to go back to the shop and ask :blush:

Thanks Gav - I forgot about that - It's just that since i put bogwood in my tank about 1 1/2 months ago it has gone a bit yellow and i need to clean the gravel somehow.

I have a syphon but i have no idea how to use it as i ripped the packaging with the instructions on it

I have been too embaressed to go back to the shop and ask :blush:
If you have a siphon, gravel vac like this, basically plastic cylinder with a syphon tube attached it's real easy.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AQUARIUM-GRAVEL-CLEA...1QQcmdZViewItem