Floating Plant Recommendation

Darkehorse

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi,

I have a 20 gallon freshwater tank and I'm looking to find the best floating plant that would provide some shade/shelter for my fish. Ideally I'd like it to be resilient, easy to grow, and with a limited root system. In other words, I'd like it to take up as little of the top layer of the tank as possible while providing the best shade/shelter.

Thanks in advance for your recommendations!
-Darke

P.S. Keep in mind that I've never kept any aquatic plants before so I'm a total newbie.

I just float hornwort in my betta tank. My guy loves it... he builds big bubblenests with it. I had duckweed, but it would get everywhere. Hornwort has been growing quick and easy for me.

hi

Salvinia Natans - my fish love it and its great at keeping my nitrate levels down.

regards

Sean

I agree, either that or Salvinian minima. Great little plants. It is a type of floating aquatic fern. There is a rhizome, though it is hard to make out.

I used to use these in my betta tanks and wish I had some for my 8g and 2.5g, but I can't get them here, and I'm not going to pay to have them shipped.

llj

Duckweed (Lemna minor) is the fastest growing plant ever.
I did my formal lab report in university with this plant.
I started with mere 4 little plants in a testtube with nothing but tap water.
One week later, i had 74 plants.

I dun think any plant in the universe can match the reproduction rate of duckweed.

Plus they are very sensitive to salt, ph and heavy metals. So if they suddenly stop growing, u know there is something wrong.