Fish Room

MissBehave

Reaction score
Ok. I am pretty new to the 'betta world' & am VERY interested. We (Me & BF) are getting ready to move to a house. I am really interested in setting up a 'fish' room sort of like some of the pictures I've seen of peoples.... It seems I have no clue as to where to start though. How big of a room would you need for a nice fish room? Would a basement be good or too cold? What supplies would I need to start it all up? I appreciate any & all info provided :p

P.S. or would anyone consider becoming my 'betta mentor?'

Hi,

To start with I'd consider a basement ideal for a fish house - temperatures tend to be more stable as they tend to be quite well insulated.

I think it would be alot of peoples dream to have the space, time and money to set-up a fish house.

Is this a house just for bettas? - Intending to breed and sell? Or do you want to make it a place to sit and chill....

Planning is going to be the key to this project....

Heres a nice little artical on a centralised filter systemhere :thumbs:

To get you going.

I'm sure you'll get lots more ideas though.....

:)

Some things to consider are:

Keep in mind you'll be dealing with a LOT of water and it won't always stay in the containers/tanks--so flooring should be looked at (e.g., finished wood floors may not be a great idea for a fish room).

Access to fresh water and at least one large sink that you can put a strainer into (so no fish have a chance of pipelining).

You'll need an abundance of electrial outlets and as little chance of blowing a fuse/circuit breaker as possible (if possible, get your fishroom onto an independent circuit line from the rest of your house).

Are you going to need a refrigerator for food keeping?

Lighting, what kind of overhead lights do you want (look into what is best for what you will be doing).