Fish In The Bathroom Sink

matttail

Reaction score
I was hoping that someone might be able to answer a couple questions for me. I'm an artist, working in sculpture and photography. I've plans to make a sculpture piece that I'd want to keep some live fish in, probably just two goldfish. I've picked up an used bathroom sink, and I'm going to have the water flow through a clay figure... yeah, he's gonna be peeing on the fish. lol

Two questions really, do you know if there's going to be contaminates in the clay? It's basically earthware, and of course no lead glazes (coloring).

And, the sink has been used before and I scrubed it with comet when I got it. If I use a fresh spounge and some salt, with lots and lots and lots of rinsing should that get it clean, or do you have an sigguestions? Also there's going to be a bit of stainless steel and pvc for the drain. I figure on having a filter and pump be outside of the 'tank' - I'll take the water out through the drain, then filter, airate and return it through the figure. I'll probably end up making the filter my self so that I can get a good filter and a pump with enough umph to push the water high enough.

I doubt that you've been asked these questions before, but if you've any tips, hints, or sigguestions I'd be greatful to hear them. Thanks in Advance!

--matttail

stainle4ss steel is none reactive, so shouldn`t cause a problem,

the earthenware won`t be a problem aslong as its baked right, there may be an issue with how many fish you can fit in the sink, as there isn`t alot of room in there, make sure they are the smallet fish you can,

a normal external filter with some minor adaptions would work for what your thinking (i`m assuming your fairly hand with the art of bodging stuff)