Final Setup Advice Needed

leavingreality

Reaction score
HI,

I've been lurking on here for a month or so after going to a lfs and thinking what little advice they gave didn't sound right. I ended up buying an old juwel from ebay, I'm not sure of the make but it is 2ft 9 lentgh by 1ft 8 height by 1ft 2.5 width. It came with a eheim 2213 filter and new media. It also has 2 lights in the hood one seems a bit darker than the other one but I'm not sure how to tell what strenght they are. I have bought a fluval tronic 150w heater and some aquasafe to treat the water. The lfs tried to sell me some bacteria stuff for 10 quid today but I declined after my reading on here so far.

I'm just in the process of washing my argos sand I've done one 15kg bag but it has only covered about 1cm depth so do you think I should put in some or all of the second bag I bought? I'm wanting to get some plants at some point but am just trying to get it all setup to start a fishless cycle. I have an api master kit too but that is my next step to play with that once I've finished figuring out the filter etc.

So am I missing anything obvious so far? Should I put in more sand if I want plants and how deep should it be really? I saw a petricola catfish today that looked cute but not sure if they will get to big for this tank as the sign said they grow to 13cm so any ideas for something similar but smaller?

I'm not decided on the fish really yet apart from wanting things like neon tetra's and zebra danio and maybe some male guppies and cherry shrimp but i know i'm not at that stage yet to start thinking seriously about fish yet.

Sorry this is a bit waffley but so many questions and just want to make sure I'm doing everything right for the wellbeing of my future fish.

Thanks

Suz

I would get the tank / kit set up and full of water ASAP. That way you can check there are no leaks etc and you can also start the fishless cycle. Then mess around with sand etc.