Filter media questions

SABWARNER16

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
So I’m new to the hobby and I have three tanks (two 3.5 gallons with bettas and a 25 gallon with livebearers) and I’m trying to understand what the best filter media is. I’ve been using the cartridges they come with and I’m watching youtubers and how they kind of roll their eyes at them haha! My tanks are still cycling (yes, I added fish before they were cycled because I didn’t know better but I know a lot more now than I did and my two other tanks I bought will be fully cycled before fish go in) but I’m curious if I maybe had better filter media if it would help my beneficial bacteria grow more. I did learn the sponges can help so I cut some and kind of added them to each tank. But I don’t know what kind of media in a media bag is good for what I have or anything about it. And should I really mess with it considering we’re still cycling.

ALSO: I had two days where all three tanks were ammonia free and I had nitrates So I thought we were cycled. But then two days later they all had increased ammonia (~1ppm) so I’ve been having to do water changes basically everyday and it’s being really stubborn. They’ve all been up for about a month and it’s getting a little frustrating.

Get something that can provide you with the biggest surface areas for the beneficial bacteria(BB) to grow.

Get any of this - sponge pads, ceramic ring or Biohome media.
I usually have a mix of sponge pads and ceramic ring or Biohome media.

Don't use the cartridges as most come with carbon and are quite small in terms of surface areas.
The carbons are useless and is only used when you need to remove medications after you have complete medicating your tank.

For Bettas' tank, even a sponge filter is good enough.

Don't feed too much for the first 1-2 weeks.
The BB will need at least 3-4 weeks or more to establish.
Feed once every 2-3 days for the first 2-3 weeks.

Some information on Biohome media.