Filter Cleaning And Other Questions (Fluval U2)

Seandgoode

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this fish keeping business and have a few questions about filter cleaning and maintainence.

When I set up my tank I just followed the instructions as per the manufacturer (Fluval) to get it up and running. Since then I have read a lot of differing opinions on media inside etc and hoped to clear a few things up.
The filter currently has carbon pads in, normal sponge and ceramics in the middle.

Is the carbon needed or is that just to remove medicine? 

If so what should I put in the carbon pads place?

How often do each filters need replacing?

The ceramic in the centre compartment seems half full, should I buy more to put in there or is there space for a reason?

How frequently should I be cleaning it and to what extent? Is it a case of never cleaning the ceramic section and a light swish of the sponges in old tank water? Also fully stripping down the unit, impeller out etc?

I am aware never to clean the filter or it's contents in tap water but the rest I don't know and want to get it right for the fish and so I don't spend a fortune.
Sorry about giant list of questions.

I have two regular sponges in mine (I have a U3) and only use carbon when I need to remove something from the water.

My ceramics portion is full, I doubt it matters hugely if you have it packed solidly or not.

I clean the entire thing (media) in old tank water when needed (which is about monthly for me).  I squeeze the sponges just enough to remove the sludge and I simply swish around the ceramics to free it from debris.  I do wash the plastic casing under tap water as there is often sludge stuck in there and that helps prevent a sudden blurst of anything that was loosened up from being shot into your clean tank.