Feeding Guide?

xamy_valox

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hi there,
I am completely new to keeping tropical fish and am a bit unsure as to how often I should be feeding them.
I am currently feeding them a large pinch of King British Tropical Flake Food, and sometimes a small pinch of frozen bloodworm, once every other day. However, whenever I take the lid off the tank to either have a look or put some liquids into the water they are all at the top thinking they are going to be fed!
Are fish always like this and will just always be hungry? Or am I not feeding them enough?
I am reluctant to feed them every day as I am frightened of over feeding them and having them die.
I currently have 2 Platy's, 4 Guppies (and one baby guppy) and one Male Beta.
Can someone please just let me know if I am feeding them correctly?!
Thanks,
Amy.

It's all down to practice really. I tend to feed my fish a small amount, then if they finish it really quickly I give them a little more, and so on. Generally if there is any food left after 4 or 5 minutes you are feeding them too much but they should always be 'hungry' in the sense they want food, whenever you go to feed them. If they aren't then you have a problem.

Try experimenting a little with how much and how often you feed them to get to a happy balance, I feed my fish every 24 hours give or take an hour or so but I know that some people only feed every other day. I don't think there is any 'right' way so long as your fish are healthy.

I wouldn't worry- even if I do several feeds in a day the fish still act like they haven't eaten for weeks. Every other day is fine, although maybe a smaller amount each day would be better?

It's pretty common behavior for some fish to be "trained" that an open top means food.