Experienced Betta Owners!!!! Advice Needed!!!

wherestoad

Reaction score
Hi all! So a little bit of background, I have a 20 gallon community tank with zebra danios, neon tetras, corydoras, a purple glow fish I got from a friend, and a pleco. I was thinking about getting another tank and getting a betta. However I know very little about them and want to learn everything before considering getting one. I’ve only had my tank for a little over 6 months now so I’m still very very new to the hobby. I have some questions that I’ll list below but I’m looking for some experienced betta owners to give me advice as well as a basic “lesson” on their care.

1) Is it too early to start another tank?
2) What are just the basic necessities for a betta? Tank size? Water parameters?
3) Filter? (what kind is best)
4) What kind of environment? Like decor? Planted? Gravel or sand?
5) Potential tank mates? Or is that a bad idea?
6) Everything else?

Any and all advice is appreciated!!

1) Is it too early to start another tank?
It's never too early to start another tank :) You can kick start a cycle using some media from your current tank, but as that's only 6 months old keep an eye on ammonia and nitrite to make sure they stay at zero if you do steal some media.

2) What are just the basic necessities for a betta? Tank size? Water parameters?
The minimum tank size is 5 gallons, though bigger is better. A 10 gallon is a nice size for a betta.
Bettas are soft water fish, though they can tolerate hard water if it's not extremely hard, and they like the temperature slightly higher than most fish, but only a degree or two.

3) Filter? (what kind is best)
Sponge filters powered by an air pump are ideal for bettas as they don't like a lot of water flow with those long fins. Other filters are OK as long as the flow can be turned down. Or get a short finned betta.

4) What kind of environment? Like decor? Planted? Gravel or sand?