Equipment Help

BigBeginner

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Im going to go to the store of the weekend to buy a few live rock and i thought i should double check what equipment ill need so i can buy it ALL at once.

This is a kinda new 55 gal tank

Right now i have:
-Not sure what type of filter or the gph
-A Heater
-Koralia Powerhead (its small so will i need another one on the other side of the tank?)
-Not sure of the wattage on my lights
-A hydro-thermo-meter
-Test kit with pH, Amon, Nitrite, and Nitrate
-Salt
*Please suggest ANY other equipment i will need

I think i will need:
-A sump/fuge (could someone explain more to me about these or give me a link, with what they do, how to get 1, what they are, as i know NOTHING about them, all i know is that they are useful)
*Can someone explain to me what RO water is and if i need the RO pump thingy

I am a totall newb to salt water but I can answer you RO question. RO water is tap water which is filtered through certain membranes to take out all contaminents we get in tap water such as chlorine and other elements which are harmful to fish and corals. You can buy special units which filter the water for you. I have just bought a unit that produces 50gpd of RO water from RO-man.com! The unit will remove usually from 94-98% of contaminents. Most people I have ever spoken to always use it for marines and sometimes for fresh ( depending how dedicated you are)!
If you are going to hopefully be caring for sensitive corals like me then I suggest you get one as corals can sometimes be very sensitive i have read.
Hope this Helps