Enzymes

smurfyy_2k3

it's a shame stupidity isn't painfull
Reaction score
ok, there have to be some kind of enzyme which break down ammonia into nitrites, so what if you immobilize them in a jelly (agar?) the could be like bioballs only with enzyme which could be put in the filter and give an instant cycle. btw i got this idea from a experiment we did in biology

Well, if you do put them into agar, they would need some ammonia to survive in. And I don't think you can put that agar bacteria back into a tank full of fish.

Well, if you do put them into agar, they would need some ammonia to survive in. And I don't think you can put that agar bacteria back into a tank full of fish.
enzyme are not living they are catalysts (biological) only an extreme ph or temperature (well not only there are a few other things) will denature them agar is a jelly not a bacteria

I'm no scientist, so perhaps bignose or other scientist can confirm/deny this.
surely the enzyme(s) is/are created by the nitrifying bacteria and would be usles without them?

I'm thinking this would be a good topic for the proposed scientific forum :nod:

you can "harvest enzymes" from the bacteria and they work just the same :good:

reply to the post below: as above enzyme are not living therefore they cannot die

I didn't say that the agar was bacteria. I meant that the bacteria (or enzymes in your case) wouldn't survive long without ammonia to consume.

i didnt think it was enzymes at all i thought it was just bacteria if it is somehting has to produce the enzymes in the first place ??

miles