Dwarf Puffer Questions

PETsMARTchick

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I'm new to the whole pufferfish thing. I'm setting up a 5 gallon for dwarf puffers so I have some questions. Do dwarf puffers like a little aquarium salt in their water? Do they really sleep? What is the best attractive DIY cave(can I use a coconut cave?)? Would 1, 2, or 3 puffers be best for a 5 gallon? I'm guessing 3 is too much. And with 2...I'm just worried they will be aggressive toward each other. But my dad will kill me if I spent all that money for a little 1 inch fish. What is the best attractive DIY cave? I'm a little nervous about this whole thing because puffers seem so complicated. So I want your guys' advice. Thanks!!!

Dwarfs like hiding places, so I would get a rock with deep tunnels in them, with plants, fake or real to go along with the tank. I'd get 2, the rule is usually 2 gallons per fish... Dwarf puffers are also freshwater, so you don't need salt.

Godric

Although I don't have a puffer currently I've done alot of research on them (will be getting one when the shipment comes in within a month or two) it's one puffer per five gallons of fish. If you had a 10 gal then you might be able to get away with three but there might be some serious problems when it comes to territory.

Can you feed dwarf puffers freeze dried foods? I know they won't accept flake foods but if I have any at uni I will need to use an automatic feeder while I'm on holidays. I know freeze dried food has less nutritional value than frozen/live food but if it's just for a few weeks that doesn't really matter as much as if you're feeding them this constantly.

i kept two happily in a 5 gallon tank. they also shared that tank with two fw bumbleebee gobies. dwarf puffers are fw and therefore do not need any salt. i wouldn't go with more than two, as that doesn't leave much room for territory. a good rule of thumb is 2 to 3 gallons per dwarf puffers, to allow for territorial behaviors........