Dropsy or pregnant

Krystall25

Reaction score
Hello. I have a platy that I'm hoping is pregnant but just wanted to know if she could also have dropsy. She's very lethargic and seems to have been pregnant for a while. I don't think she is pine coning but I could be wrong.

Attachments

• 20231214_112031.jpg
    20231214_112031.jpg
    323.8 KB · Views: 1,577
  • 20231214_112218.jpg
    20231214_112218.jpg
    258.5 KB · Views: 21
  • 20231214_112548.jpg
    20231214_112548.jpg
    322.6 KB · Views: 23
  • 20231214_112643.jpg
    20231214_112643.jpg
    305.1 KB · Views: 27
This is her on November 27th

Attachments

• 20231127_081253.jpg
    20231127_081253.jpg
    289.4 KB · Views: 24
Has it been more than a month ?

If the fish does not show any sign of distress, laborious breathing, redness around the tail belly and gills, Protruding scales.

Like this:
1702582787801.jpeg

Later becomes this:
1702582812727.jpeg

I have no experience with platies.

But I'm pretty sure that she's going to slow down a lot before giving birth.

Edit: Your last pic is not clear enough, But she looks beautiful on the first ones.

Has it been more than a month ?

If the fish does not show any sign of distress, laborious breathing, redness around the tail belly and gills, Protruding scales.

Like this:
View attachment 332630

Later becomes this:
View attachment 332631

I have no experience with platies.

But I'm pretty sure that she's going to slow down a lot before giving birth.

Edit: Your last pic is not clear enough, But she looks beautiful on the first ones.
Thank you so much. I think she is right around the 1 month mark. So perhaps I should move her to a breeding box?

If you want to save all the frys, I would say so.

Last edited:
I see fluid retention - possible kidney trouble. It may advance to dropsy. There is no pineconing, but her gravid spot looks as swollen as the rest of her. On nov 27, that was a very gravid platy. Now, it's wait and see which way she goes.