Don't Think I'm Doin Anythin Right

arah

Reaction score
Hi i am quite new to fish keeping and really don't think i'm very good at it :unsure: I have a 84L tropical tank and have just had so many problems with it. I'll start from the beginning bought the tank from my LFS went home really excitied and set it all up(was so proud of my new tank), i fillled it with treated water and left it for 2 weeks i took water to the LFS and they tested it saying it was fine to put fish in so i went home with 3 dwarf gouramis i got on great bought my own test kit and did everythin right i thought. I went back to thefish store and asked advice on other fish which would be suitable for my tank i bought 2 angelfish and a male siamese fighting fish. Thats when the problems began one of my angels started attacking one of my gouramis i immediately took out the angel and the shop took it back replacing it with two female fighting fish. i treated my tank with medicatedliquid from the fish store and things were looking up then sadly i lost the injured gourami and 2 days later i lost one of the female fighting fish. I feel awful and feel like i haven't done my best for the fish could these two deaths be related or just coincidence any helpful friendly advice would be very much appreciated because i want to do the best for therest of my fish and keep them alive.

Thank Sarah

Firstly welcome to TFF you have found a great place to get advice about a fascinating hobby.

Firstly don´t feel too bad. LFS (local fish shops) are notorious for giving out bad advice. Angels can be agressive.

Not sure what you mean by ¨medicated liquid¨ liquid though.

The water you use to fill your tank should be dechlorinated.

Next you need to read the pinned article how to set up an aquarium written by our resident fishy god MissWiggle.

Second you need to take a look at Cycling