Diy Lights

shrimply

Fish Addict
Reaction score
There is a few threads regarding this but not recently, and was just looking for a bit of advice. Am upgrading for a planted tank, disscusion regarding the actaully sutibility of doing this is in the planted section.

This is just the practicality question, asked second as always ;)

So the plan is to buy one of these

http://www.nationallampsandcomponents.co.u...att/17/234/2030

and 4 of these

http://www.nationallampsandcomponents.co.u...-Type/21/48/274

And then the wiring.

Now a few things you should know.

I'm not an electrician, but am happy to do a bit of wiring, and technically enough minded, I hope, to follow a wiring diagram.
The set up of the tank means that none of the fittings or ballast would come in to contact with any worrying amount of water, I have glass condensation plates and moisture in the hood is minimal.

So what I'd like to know?

Firstly that I'm not a complete moron and it will work
Secondly if there's anything I've missed.
Thirdly what do I need in the way of wiring, is regular 2/3core stuff OK or do I need anything special.

And I'd really like to know if anyone's done this before, and actually pictures of the wiring would be brilliant as I'd know exactly what to do.

Cheers
Darren

NO sparkies?

Sorry if this seems impatient it just I'd like to get everything ordered as quickly as possible.

Basically doing some more research the actual wiring up will be no problem, but there seems to be very little mention of what wiring is needed. I'm hoping it's not a big issue but would be grateful I anyone with more experiance could tell me if there was any ratings that the wiring needed to have.

I have a length of 3 core heat resistant cable which i used when wiring up a ceramic bulb for my boa, which should do for attaching a plug to the ballast, but am unsure if regular 2 core flex will be suitable to wire up the endcaps.

Thanks Again