Discus Help!

Kaleidoscope

Reaction score
I'm new to discus and I purchased two healthy looking ones, about 3.5-4" maybe 3 weeks ago or so. I've noticed one has started to show black around the edges of his fins and I read that it's a cause of stress or disease. Can anyone help me figure out how to help him out?

I don't see any signs of parasites.
Swimming around the same area.
Is breathing a bit heavy. Added in a sponge filter to help add some aeration. Not going to the top for air.
Hard to tell if he's eating or not but I don't think he's eating much.
His buddy is doing fine.
Did a 50% water change yesterday.
Temp is around 84.5.
Ammonia is at 0 and below are the rest of the parameters.
They're only in a 20 gallon right now, but its just the two of them and no other fish to stress them out or cause extra waste. They will be going to a bigger tank but while they were a bit smaller, I wanted to keep them alone in a 20 to keep stress down.

Any suggestions on what else I could do? Thanks!

discus01.jpgdiscus02.jpg

Can you please show a picture of the whole tank? How hard is your water? These guys must be kept in soft water. What is your pH?, is it acidic?

This is the tank at the moment. pH is showing around 6.5. Hardness, a bit more on the harder end as shown in the above picture.
discus03.jpg

I would use a liquid test kit. Those are way more accurate than the strip ones. I use the API kit. It lasts a while to.
Also I know you said you were going to move them to a bigger tank but they should probably already be in a larger tank than that. A 20g is just too small for discus period.
But they definitely need more plant cover near the top. Getting tall plants will really help them come out more and be comfortable.

These guys are just looking for a nice spot to relax in, I would suggest turning down the light and using a lot of floating plants to shade the tank.