Creating A Paludarium

Toaster

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi,

After owning/raising some african cichlids for a year I don't consider myself to be an amateur hobbyist anymore, and I like to think I've reached a intermediate stage, but I am new to paludarium's which is the main discussion on this page.. If this isn't the right place to post this just let me know!

I've started doing research on Paludarium's as I want to create one in my 33 gallon tank. I've figured out a good way to create the dividing wall between land/water. I've read up on what some other people have done:

http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumapc/paludariums/72051-30-gallon-paludarium-how-journal.html

and

http://badmanstropicalfish.com/paludarium/paludarium.html

and 

http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?/topic/359601-my-mudskipper-paludarium/?hl=paludarium

This guy used some egg crate to allow water to flow between I think that's a good idea too.

http://www.dendroboard.com/forum/parts-construction/72637-29-gallon-paludarium-build-post-i-go-details-very-pic-heavy-4.html#post657998

Tank:

I have a 33 gallon tank to work with. I plan on using some foam/plexiglass and silicon sealant to create the land portion, and maybe allow water to flow through the soil..

I have a Marineland Penguin 200B which I used for the tank, but I'm thinking that it probably wont work as a filter for the water, I'm wondering what pumps/filters I can get that are cheap. I was thinking maybe I might be able to use a smaller 5 gallon tank I have as a reservoir put my 50 gallon filter on that and run some tubes up/pump up to the main tank, would that work?

As far as soil goes I know I need to steer clear of some types of soil as it can leech into the water. I was thinking of starting with some larger gravel with smaller gravel on top. Followed by some sort of peat, and then a layer of sand and on top of that some aquatic planting soil?