Could Someone Give me Advice on Choosing the Right Filtration System for a Freshwater Aquarium?

clausesalva

Reaction score
Hello there,

I am new to the world of aquarium keeping and recently set up a 55 gallon freshwater tank. I am currently in the process of choosing the right filtration system and could use some advice from experienced hobbyists.

I have been considering a few options; including hang on back filters; canister filters; and sponge filters. From what I have read; each type has its own pros and cons; but I am having trouble deciding which would be best for my setup.

I plan to keep a mix of community fish such as tetras; guppies; and a few bottom dwellers.
I have included several plants; rocks; and driftwood in the tank.
I am looking for a filter that will provide efficient mechanical; biological; and chemical filtration without causing too much disruption to the fish or plants.

I am also interested in understanding how easy each type is to maintain and if there are any specific brands or models that you would recommend.

Also, I have gone through this post; https://www.fishforums.net/threads/change-blue-prism-of-filter-media-to-all-foam-has-affected-nitrates-unexpectedly.493780/unread which definitely helped me out a lot.

If anyone has had experience with different filtration systems or can share their recommendations based on similar setups;

Thank you in advance for your help and assistance.

There is no best. All work, and all have pros and cons.
Sponges will give excellent bio filtration. You need an air pump, and they can be noisy unless you get a high end one. They are also not the best looking objects in a tank, though you can hide them
A canister is also good. They are more expensive, and in my experience, sometimes hard to prime after a cleaning. It's very easy to forget to clean them, and that is a drawback. They hum away and move water until they don't.