Cory Died - Why?

JKunner

Reaction score
Hello!
I’m relatively new to fishkeeping and new to this forum. I’d like to find out why my Peppered Cory died today!

I’ve had 2 Corys for around a month now and never had any issues, until this last week where they’ve stopped eating as much and have hidden away under some decor (the hiding wasn’t uncommon during the day). I came down to find one of the Corys had died overnight with some redness around the belly (pic attached).

Immediately did a water test but Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate are all 0. They tended to eat Tetra Micro Granules and King British Catfish pellets. The other Cory doesn’t have any redness and isn’t showing other symptoms of dying.

Is the death due to a disease or from under-eating? I’d like to know if the rest of my fish are in danger. I have a 120L tank with: 1 platy, 6 cherry barbs, 1 Cory and 3 Oticinclus.

Thanks!

Attachments

• BCCEA3E1-37E3-4D61-BAA2-1E77055E749F.jpeg
    BCCEA3E1-37E3-4D61-BAA2-1E77055E749F.jpeg
    295.1 KB · Views: 81
A lot of the time it can be a case of a weak fish to begin with.It’s always a good idea to buy corys in 3s,as after some experience with them,ive found that there’s usually one that will be weaker than the other two.
As long as your parameters are ok then I wouldn’t worry about the other fish in the tank.

looks like a bacterial infection (red patch on the belly).

how long has the tank been set up for?
how often do you do water changes and how much do you change?
do you gravel clean the substrate when you do a water change?
do you dechlorinate the new water before adding it to the tank?

what sort of filter is on the tank?
how often and how do you clean the filter?

----------------------
If a fish dies in the tank, do the following.
Wipe the inside of the glass down with a clean fish sponge.