Complete newbie lost 2 fish. Need help to make sure I don’t loose more.

Yelly

Reaction score
I am new to the hobby. I will hold my hands up and say I didn’t do the research I naively thought tank heater water fish and away you go!

I’ve since learned it’s not that simple at all. I have a 190ltr tank. External oversized filter. Air stone. And I’ve bought a master test kit. There are 8 cardinal tetra and 6 julli cory in the tank. Started out with 10 cardinals. Have 2 plants. Not sure of type and lights. I’ll add pics of set up.

Lost one last week. Last night lost a second. This one looked different. S/he was very swollen.

All the rest look great still and water looks ok to me from the tests. I’ll add pictures. It’s a little cloudy still but I’ve read that will eventually settle. I’ll add pictures of water tests. I don’t want to break any rules so is it ok to post a pic of the dead fish? I want to check if it’s something contagious and if so would love advice on treatment for the rest of the fish so I don’t lose any more.

If I’m ok to post pics of my fish I’ll add that thanks in advance all.

Attachments

• IMG_7881.jpeg
    IMG_7881.jpeg
    291 KB · Views: 45
  • IMG_7876.png
    IMG_7876.png
    924.8 KB · Views: 33
  • IMG_7872.jpeg
    IMG_7872.jpeg
    243.5 KB · Views: 30
  • IMG_7829.jpeg
    IMG_7829.jpeg
    210.9 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_7613.jpeg
    IMG_7613.jpeg
    166.4 KB · Views: 31
Add as many photos of dead fish as you need, the disease experts on the forum will find them useful.

The plant is Java Fern and it does best when attached to a piece of rock or wood.

Set the light unit to 6500K

---------------------

How often are you feeding the fish and what are you feeding them?

What sort of filter media/ materials are in the filter (in particular any white granules)?

What is the pH 6 or 7.6?

How often are you doing water changes and how much do you change?
Do you dechlorinate the new water before adding it to the aquarium?