Co2 Drop Checker Help

KevJ87

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hey guys, so at the suggestion of a few of you guys I purchased a drop checker for the first time. I had always thought they were pretty inaccurate but I guess you guys swear by them.

This is my problem, I am not sure what color the mixture should be in the START to make sure it is working. 

I made 4*dKH solution following this guide http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/showthread.php?t=178491&page=2

People seem to credit it as being very accurate and I did it correctly however I don't have any more KH test kit left to test it at the moment.

I am using Up Aqua Long-Term CO2 Drop Checker from Amazon.

I placed 5 drops of the indicator solution it came with in and filled it to the fill line with the 4* dKH solution I made.

The part that confused me is it instantly turned green, I was under the assumption it should turn blue when you add the 4*dKH???

So since it was green from the start I was a little nervous but I am new to it so I put it in the tank and it changed to a little bit of a lighter green, towards yellow direction which makes me think my CO2 is ok. However, when I turned the air pump on over night which is what I do to compensate the CO2 (I leave the co2 in over night just turn air pump on).  It stayed the same color and when I woke up it was still the same greenish maybe a little darker hard to tell. When I turned the air pump off and came home from work it is still light green so I am not sure if I just ave my co2 dialed in perfectly or if there was an error made somewhere.

Although I did follow the 4*dKH guide very carefully.
Wondering if I should use my PH api test solution instead of the indicator drops the drop checker game with?