Cloudy Water!

king neon

Reaction score
Hi,
Im new to the hobby and the forums. Yesterday I bought my first tank which is 90 Litres. I am using a fluval 2 plus filter (which came with the tank.)
I have a air pump and heater with it. And yesterday I added two things which came with the tank which were to formula's 1. increasing the bateria and 2. helping to remove chlorine from the water. And today I wake up to find my tank water cloudy!!! I got worried and began reading my book and discovered tthat I had planted my plants wrong! I had left the brown coating around the roots. So I replanted them this morning in the correct way. And now I have no Idea what to do about the cloudy water. Please could I have some advice.

maybe its just a bacterial bloom? A water change will get rid of some if not most of the cloudyness :)

One of the first and most important things you have to do before you buy any fish iscycle your fish tank. Cycling your tank builds up "friendly" aerobic bacteria (from the Nitrobacter genus) which consume harmful ammonia (fish waste). These are broken down into nitrites and then into nitrates which aren't as toxic tfor your fishies.

EDIT: an effective way of ridding bacterial blooms is a UV sterilizer.

Oh ok thanks for the help, how long do you think It will take to clear up?

Are you buying a UV sterilizer or just doing water changes??

I think I will just do water changes but could it just settle on its own or could the filter clear it all?

if you give it time, it will eventually fade away, not too sure as to how long it will take. but if your not keen on buying a uv steriliser, you might want to continue doing water changes every second day? About 10 - 15%? Hopefully that will remove the cloudyness :)

So does this happen all the time to new aquriums? And im going to follow out water changes.