Can you ID this fish?

dwalk77

Reaction score
I saw this at the store today, and the rep was busy helping someone else so I didn't get a chance to ask what this fish was.
Any idea what this fish is? The picture doesn't do it justice, but it had a really nice orange color.

1665541162403.png

I have no idea of your knowledge on this species, nor if you have any inclination to acquire this species, but it is a shoaling fish and needs a group of 10 or more. It is a small fish, at just over an inch, so a group of ten needs a tank that is 24 inches/60cm in length minimum.

On the taxonomy, as @Essjay noted, the genus in SF is Celestichthys but this is now deemed incorrect. In the "Notes" SF mentions the 2013 study by Kullander (2013) that split the Danio genus into three sub-clades, and he revalidated the name Celestichthys Roberts 2007 for the group of four species of which the present fish is one. However, more recent work has changed this. Ahmed et al (2013) placed the species back in Danio, and subsequent studies by Kullander himself concurred (Kullander & Britz, 2013 and Kullander & Noren, 2016). I can only find the abstracts online so don't know the facts behind these changes, but given the paramount authority of Kullander in this area it is accepted. So this fish is Danio choprae Hora 1928. When I have a moment I will revise/correct the "Notes" section but the genus search change requires the Admin and for reasons irrelevant is not likely to occur.

I have no idea of your knowledge on this species, nor if you have any inclination to acquire this species, but it is a shoaling fish and needs a group of 10 or more. It is a small fish, at just over an inch, so a group of ten needs a tank that is 24 inches/60cm in length minimum.