Can Anyone Identify These?

andybuc01

Reaction score
Hi all,

Can anyone identify these 2 fish from my videos- sorry about the dodgy cameraman!

This one was sold to my as Cy Fleeti. I have Googled the name but not come up with much. Can anyone confirm or identify. It's the striped fish the camera is following. I have a pair and they are really nice fish.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogmpnguFhw8

The next is the large blue striped male who is seen digging out his home. I got him from my brother-in-law but he was not sure what he was. I have a few ideas but would be interested to see if any of you can identify him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrY1znjFxw0

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to forums, and not too good at posting pics and videos so hope it works.

Cheers,

Andy

I think the 2nd one looks just like a bigger version of the first, they look like some sort of Cynotilapia afra.
I have 2 of the Cynotilapia afra Cobue as in my avatar pic and they are a beautiful fish.

I think the 2nd one looks just like a bigger version of the first, they look like some sort of Cynotilapia afra.
I have 2 of the Cynotilapia afra Cobue as in my avatar pic and they are a beautiful fish.
Hi, thanks for your response>

The 2nd, the larger fish i also thought could be an Afra.

The first is definatly not though. In the face (shape) it looks like some kind of Labidochromis species. I have quite a good picture of one of them but don't know how to post it on here.

That Afra in your pic is a nice fish!

andy

First one is a Labidochromis "Perlmutt". Fairly peaceful. Similar temperment as a Yellow Lab really.

Second one looks very much like my Zebra. There's so many different colour strains though and it could well be a mix of several by now.

First one is a Labidochromis "Perlmutt". Fairly peaceful. Similar temperment as a Yellow Lab really.