Bubble Eye Goldfish

n3ont3tra

Lets go Flyers
Reaction score
I can move him when he outgrows the 10g, but is he okay in the 10g by himself until he gets about 10inches? Please note that the tank will be overfiltered, and water changes will be done once or twice a week, 20-20%. I just wanna make sure he grows okay, and there's none of that insides-growing-but-outsides-not thing or something similar! :S

Someone with more experience will be able to give you some better advice but....

How wide is the tank?

One general rule I was taught is that you shouldn't keep a fish that has a length half as much as your tank is wide, so you might have to move him before 10 inches depending on how wide the tank is, I doubt a 10g tank will be 20 inches wide.

Someone might want to confirm that rule though, I heard it from word of mouth and dont remember reading it anywhere.

EDIT: Spelling

Well I am no expert but I wouldnt wait until he gets 10 inches to move him. Most 10 gallon tanks are 10 x 20 inches and he would have a heck of a time being comfortable turing around, plus gold fish require twice as much water volumn per fish than small tropical fish, so at 5 inches he would be maxed out as far as the water volumn per fish goes. And just because you over filter the tank doesnt mean that you can grow the amount of benificial bacteria needed to keep his tank biologically clean, plus if your water is moving too fast in the aquarium the bacteria wont have the time needed to clean the water before it passes over it. Thats just my 2 cents.

no, you cannot leave him in there until he is 10 inches. Over filtered or not, you wouldn't keep a ten inch oscar in that tank and you can't keep a goldie in one. The inches per gallon rule falls completely apart with large thick bodied fish. a 10" goldfish is going to create a lot more waste than ten neons.

minimum on fancy goldfish is 20 gallons with another ten for every additional fish (ie: 30 for 2, 40 for 3)