Brand New Tank And Keeper

sparts

Reaction score
Hi I am very new to keeping fish, just got an fluvil vicenza 260 tank 54 gallons, has eighty wats of lighting T5, also fluval 305 filter, 300 wat heater, uv light 24 wats,

I intend keeping Discus * 6 plus couple of other bottom dwellers other wise only other things in tank will be plants. My question is what I need to make this work from new.

Intend getting ecomplete or laterite then fluorite on top is that correct substrate. How deep should this be.

Plants well I think it would be low light plants and plants that take the type of heat discus like. any help in what plants would be good in a new setup would be appreciated as well.
I know I need to set tank up and leave to cycle are there any treatments I need to do in this time befor fish are introduced to help keep algae down besides water changes what set tests should i run whilst it is going through this stage.

What problems should I look out for at this point, I know I have hard water here in Hertfordshire. And will be taking a drop down to local store to ask if they can let me know the correct paramertas of it

If I buy a ph meter would this be better than a ph testing kit

In the end when money is more forth flowing I intend to have a container sitting in shed with tap water for a few days and at tank temp so it may help with ph and chlorine but any other help is greatly appreciated,
Hope in future to post some achievements on here and be able to help some one else out like you guys and gals

I am not a discus keeper, but a couple of points I think I can make:

discus will probably need to go in a tank that is not only cycled (check up pinned topic on fishless cycling) but also mature; i.e. has been running for a while with other fish

in Hertfordshire you will probably need an RO unit to get softer water

you will certainly need your own test kit, to test not only for ph, but also for ammonia, nitrites, nitrates and water hardness