Blue Ram Is Dying.

Fc1700

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
He looked ok earlier today, but a little sick as he wasnt moving much. Did a water change (took out a little more than usual 40%), thought it would help but it seemed to just stress him out worse to the point of almost dying. (Should of thought of that
no.gif
).

Now , he is doing a lot of laying around looks almost dead, or "drunken" swimming upside down, spinning rapidly around tank. I dont have a sick tank I'm still new to this, its my only one. (10 gallon) he's been in the tank about 3 months.

I know at this point there's probably not much I can do ( I would take him to the fish store I bought him at but they are closed until tomorrow).

I dont think he will make it through the night, but in case he does is there anything that could help him? Should I just take him out, will this behavior stress the other fish?

Also advice on how exactly I should be cleaning my tank. (I've tried siphoning a few times but it doesn't seem to get as much guck out of the gravel as I would like. so I've mostly been doing 30-40% changes once/twice a week.)

I feed them  sparingly (every 3 days or so) with flakes or blood worms trying not to mess the gravel much, but obviously what I'm doing isn't working.

I've also never changed my filter since cycling since I've heard taking out the wrong one is either unnecessary or can mess up the natural cycle.

Thanks in advance. =/

Also if anyone is going to comment and can help me with the maintenance of my tank, I would appreciate it being non-condescending and straight forward with what I should do. There is so much contradictory advice given from fish owner to fish owner from fish shop to fish shop.

Thanks.

first when a sick fish, put the stats of the water. if you don't know then you can get it tested at the petshop.
most likely the fish wont make it. this can be because of the water quality and IMO i feel the rams will grow to large for a ten gallon.