Black Phantom Issues

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

GJF

Reaction score
I added 6 Black Phantom Tetras to my tank 2 days ago. Their only tankmates are 8 zebra danios. The tank is 125l and ammonia and nitrite are both sitting at 0ppm. Today I noticed ones of the Male fins appeared discoloured and he looks like there is a tear in one of his fins. As I am new to the hobby I am concerned that he may have some disease, or am I overreacting and he may have simply came off worse against one of the other males I have. Thank you for any advice

Attachments

• 20200413_133458.jpg
    20200413_133458.jpg
    232.7 KB · Views: 67
  • 20200413_133358.jpg
    20200413_133358.jpg
    155.9 KB · Views: 67
He is sick. His muscle tissue is looking a little off colour.

Wipe the inside of the glass with a clean fish sponge.

Do a 75% water change and gravel clean the substrate.
Make sure any new water is free of chlorine/ chloramine before it's added to the tank.

Add 2 heaped tablespoons of rock salt, sea salt, or swimming pool salt for every 20 litres of water. Keep the salt in the tank for 2 weeks.
If you do a water change while using salt, add salt to the new water before adding it to the tank.

If there's no improvement after a couple of days with salt, post some more pictures.

He is sick. His muscle tissue is looking a little off colour.

Wipe the inside of the glass with a clean fish sponge.

Do a 75% water change and gravel clean the substrate.
Make sure any new water is free of chlorine/ chloramine before it's added to the tank.

Add 2 heaped tablespoons of rock salt, sea salt, or swimming pool salt for every 20 litres of water. Keep the salt in the tank for 2 weeks.
If you do a water change while using salt, add salt to the new water before adding it to the tank.

If there's no improvement after a couple of days with salt, post some more pictures.