Big Favor !

madjoker14

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi all, i want to make a planted tank.i already have some basic terms of having a plantd tank so i was wondering if any members are willing to post,point in the right direction or even work with me 1on1 through privet messages, sorta a step by step kinda of thing but a little info on my tank first

I have a 20 gallon tank with about 7 mollies, the lighting is 20w but the light is very dull compared to my 10gallion 15w bulb (very bright), i have a masterkit for freshwater (ph,amm,nitrite,nitrate test), i do reg water change of 25% and fill back up with salt and dechlorine. have a few plants but seem to grow poorly with the dull light but i have java moss and a stem plant that looks like Micranthemum umbrosum.

Basically what im asking the member if you could teach me how to step by step from what test kit i should buy first befor seting up a planted tank to what type of bulb i should install,and type of fertilizers.

Sorry again if this seems like a lot but i am willing to learn lots, like i sayd i have read lots but dont even know where to start :unsure:

Thanks again for reading and any help is more the greatfull. :good:

Lighting - levels of lighting is worked out in wats per gallon (WPG) it is the toal wattage of the lights, dividedd by the toal US gallond of your tank, in your case 30w/ 30g = 1WPG

1WPG is the minimum light you can have that is needed to grow plants succesfully like mosses, java ferns, anubias, crypts, hygrophilia, vallis...

1-2WPG low light,
2-3WPG medium - high light
3WPG+ High

the colour spectrum is measured in kelvins (K) plants photosynthesize in with a K in between 5500k - 11 000k, the spectrum doesn't matter to much, as long as you have enough light then dont worry to much. Have your lights on for 10-12hours a day.