Betta in a cave? (second update!)

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

The-Wolf

Ex-LFS manager/ keeper of over 30 danio species
Reaction score
Hi as you may or may not know I have a male and female betta (veiltail)
I am new to bettas so bear with me on this one

I have set up a 4ft tank wich will be a danio only tank with larger danios in it (bengals 10cm adult, moustached 15cm adut & Giants 15.2cm adult size) 5 of each.
The tank in question has two establish filters in it and decorations and plants from my 3ft tank (cycled or mini cycle) any hoo I have put both the male and female in this tank, as I have discovered a leak in the males tank( waiting for silcon to cure),
I have watched vigilantly for several hours and apart from the occasional flare by him they seem to stay at seperate ends of the tank.

Now for the cave bit
In this tank is a cave, the male goes to the top of the tank and then into the cave and comes out and repeats this action.

Is he making a bubble nest in the cave? :dunno:
Will they be ok together permantly, as its a big tank, even with the larger fish in with them? :dunno:
What are your thoughts and recomendations? :S

For a (bad) pic of the tank click here the cave can be seen on the right as you look at the pic.

Please treat me nicely :p I do want what is best for them :)

i would never suggest keeping a male and femal together perminantly
some have done this with success but in my experience they will breed and breed then breed some more
and when they breed they are very rough, tearing fins and ripping at each other
usually if you are trying to breed them purposely, once she lays the eggs in the bubble nest, you remove the femal and give her bettafix and aquarium salts to heal her wounds

and about the bubble nest, it could be
but i have only seen bubble nests on top of the water in clear view :dunno:

Thank you Kitty