Best Fish For A Starter

VictoriaM

Reaction score
What are the best fish to start with. I am a complete beginner as i want a tank i can be proud of. I believe i have a tank that could be anywhere from 20-40 gallon's though i am not fully sure(I am going to get my husband to take some measurements today) I want something that can be hardy but not grow up to be really huge but something that is actually nice to look at(I have had mostly tetra's and guppie's and all though i like them they are never that interesting to look at)

Hi,

If I were you, i'd complete a fish-less cycle and recommend you have a little browse if you haven't already, some good info on here.

Some nice starter fish are danios, they are your usual, but very active and playful, they provide a lot of movement and are quite nice to watch when they are zooming about. They don't grow too big and are hardy little buggers. There are quite a few types and look nice when kept in groups, as they should be. Once your tank is over the cycle, you could add a group of danios, wait for your tank to mature a little and then go on to something a little more adventurous.

The only thing I will say with danios is that although they dont grow in to monsters, I find that the more room the better, because they are like fish with ADHD, they dont require masses of space, but I think most fish will always appreciate the extra room, plus it gives you more scope for fish and stocking.

I am not fully sure what that is? When i had guppies and tetra's they told me to cycle the tank for 4-5 days. But that's all i know.

I was looking at the danios. They looks like a really cool breed so that is most likely what i will start with. How long should i cycle my fish tank for?

This is the size of the fish tank i have. Up/Down is 18 1/2 inches. Side/Side is 29 5/8 inches and diagonal line is 34 3/4 inches(so i have no idea how big that is)

so its about a 2.5ft tank.