Best faucet to use for python

Alice B

Fish Herder
Reaction score
In addition to killing my last albino bristle nose doing water changes sunday, I also blew the bathroom faucet I have been hooking up to for 9 years. Back pressure from having a hose in tank after turned off has always caused a little drip, get it out fast, but this time now the faucet leaks any time in use. I guess the little canister inside that is supposed to prevent backflow is a goner. I have to go buy a new faucet. (although the handles are somewhat ok anyway). Suggest a style or brand?

I don't believe backpressure was the cause of the valve leaking, likely just wear and tear, but I could be wrong. I just plumbed in a sink to use for cleaning the dog and filling tanks and for it I got a delta laundry faucet using traditional values with the hot water side feed through a temperature regulator to make filling the tanks easier. Unfortunately, this solution would not be appropriate in a typical home bathroom, but it is easy to fix, cheap, and has a threaded outlet making attaching the python syphon easy if you use that portion of your python.

I don't believe backpressure was the cause of the valve leaking, likely just wear and tear, but I could be wrong. I just plumbed in a sink to use for cleaning the dog and filling tanks and for it I got a delta laundry faucet using traditional values with the hot water side feed through a temperature regulator to make filling the tanks easier. Unfortunately, this solution would not be appropriate in a typical home bathroom, but it is easy to fix, cheap, and has a threaded outlet making attaching the python syphon easy if you use that portion of your python.

That’s exactly the faucet type that I have in the basement laundry room. Mine is over 70 years old and other than replacing washers, it works great. Has threads to attach a garden hose or python siphon. Has lots of water pressure and is easy to regulate temperature.