Any Advice Would Be Good...i'm New

GeoffIsMyFish

Reaction score
:D Hi Everyone,

I'm quite new to this fishy business....my Grandad had a tropical tank when I was little and I always wanted one! About 9 months ago I gently perswaded my parter a fish tank would look georgeous in our living room (and begged..alot) So we got a nice one from our local fish shop. Its about 67cm cubed. We started it with the mind set that yeah fish keeping is expensive but we are only gonna have guppies and other tiny fish. OMG didn't realise they took quite so much money and time (new carbon, plants, cleaning equiptmet, etc). Not enough money to be buying testing kits, not unless my fish are really bad.

Anyway, I really want to know what I can put in my tank. I am a complete beginner and although I know some fish shouldn't go with other fish because they might fight I really want a good selection. (trial and error, I know that sounds cruel so only so far.) so far I have quite a few in there.

2 Goldfish 3-4 inches(Christmas pressie off my Gran...how could I say no)
5 Sunset Platys
5 Moonlight Platys
8 Female Guppies
2 Male Guppies
4 Zebra Danios
3 Neons
1 Glowlight
2 Amino??? Shrimps (or maybe 4 coz I put 2 new ones in but havn't seen them since)
2 Honey Gourmeries 2-3 inches
2 Gourmeries 3-4 inches (grey ones with 2 spots on)
1 Plec, currently 5-6 inches (hes cute)

Any advice for new fish would be gratley appriciated, I am looking into getting some big snails apparently they help keep the algea down on the glass.

HannahX

What size is te tank? Also, the goldfish is coldwater, and the rest there are tropical, so rehome it or get it a 20 gallon tank with some good filtration.

The neons and glowlight should be in a school of atleast 6 each, so depending on your tank size, take those back to the fish store/get more.

Im only asuming your pleco is a common one, and those get rather huge so again, tank size could become an issue here.

I dont know much about gouramis though, sorry