Anubias Nana

Marshall..

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Just set up a trigon350 and looking to grow anubias nana all over bogwood in there.The plants I have added have been tied to various pieces of wood but they are going brown round the edges.They are however sending roots out and the odd new leaf.Is there anything I can do to improve the growth,I have relatively subdued lighting and co2 in the aquarium?

Hello Marshall,

I have been growing anubias for a few years now.
When you say turning brown, is it decaying?
I have never seen my anubias do that.
Are you adding any ferts to your tank?
Anubias dosen't need much light and are slow growing.
Having CO2 is good but useless without nutrients.
Please provide more info:

1. nutrients(ferts) adding or not.
You've got CO2 as you mentioned.
2. Water changes (schedule)
3. Fish (How many, types)
4. Cleaning crew (snail, shrimp, Oto)
5. Any signs of algae...Anubias is susceptible to algae attack.

I started with one pot of Anubias in 2002 and now have half of my tank covered with it.
You need a lot of patience with anubias though they are low maintenance.
From what you have mentioned, I can only think of low nutrients as your problem.

I have a few anubias in tanks with medium sized cichlids and they do not get brown edges. Either the tank is too brightly lit or the nutrients are too low as stated above. If the room is fairly bright anubias can live with no overhead light but they will grow even slower.

Thanks for your input I am using the original lighting that comes with a jewel aquarium which I know is not the brightest but probably good for the anubias.
I do have algae growing on the bogwood nearer the surface and it is attacking some of my Anubias that I have placed higher up.
I have only just added 15 rummy nose tetras today as I have only had the tank set up six weeks.
I have added leaf zone liquid fertilizer but am concerned too much may create an algae bloom.