Angelfish - New Member

fakekerby

Reaction score
Good afternoon all, this is my first post, and i'm about 3 months into my fish-keeping experience! I'm very much loving it at the moment, except when I lose one :-(

I've been keeping goldfish for a few months, and last month I decided to start having some tropical fish, so i've got my Dad's old tank - at least 100L's, it's quite big, and the fish I have in there are doing very well.

I've got 5 zebra danios, 2 coreys (did have 3, but 1 died :-( i think it looked unhappy from the start so prob just a bad fish), and 3 platys.

I've checked my nitrates, nitrites, etc, they all seem fine, although I will water change this weekend. I do have a high Ph though, so might need to invest in some bogwood lol.

Anyway, my question is really about Angelfish. I really fancy getting a few of these, what would you recommend? Are my tank mates suitable for Angelfish? Will they be OK in a relatively new tank? I've heard they can be quite aggressive, will they nip at my platys or coreys?

Thanks for all your help, this site is great!

Alex

can you get the dimensions of the tank for us, your tanks nearly 30gals which is an OK size for angels (they'd prefer bigger but it's been done), but they do get tall so the tank needs to be deep enough for them. If you can get us the dimensions we can then advise if the tank is suitable or not.

Your fish should be fine with angels, no obvious compatibility issues, angels will sometimes eat small fish like neons (that's they're natural food in the wild) but danio's are just that bit bigger and quicker so should be fine. Angels are a touch aggressive but not terribly, providing they have enough space and suitable tankmates it shouldn't be an issue.