Ammonia meter

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

FishHobby99

Fish Gatherer
Reaction score
Does anyone here use an ammonia meter? I am looking into it.
8357E3E7-17F8-4BA2-AF84-051F34807690.png

Never tried one. I've always used the liquid test. Sure would be handy for cycling, if it works.
That’s what I’m thinking. I am new to this hobby & a series of events led me to 4 acquire tanks fairly rapidly. Have two 10s, a 5 & a 40. Ordered a test tube rack & more test tubes today & then harked back to my years in a biology lab. We used meters often, not all these drops.

...We used meters often, not all these drops.
Ditto...and whilst these were expensive pieces of kit, they gave consistent and accurate results to a degree unachievable with drop tests. I looked at these and, unfortunately, there isn't one meter that would measure all of the parameters I'd want to measure, with me needing a meter each for pH, another for Ammonia, another for nitrates, etc. etc..
Such meters are complex pieces of scientific kit, intended for serious lab use and the price reflects this.
That said, the costs of those meters I've seen are much reduced from a decade ago and, as the hobby becomes more and more scientifically based, then perhaps the cost of good meters will continue to fall.

I shall see. Already have a pH meter. Think I paid $15. The hunt is on! I’d pay $50 for the NH3 meter if I’m convinced it works. As to others params, I haven’t searched yet. Do have a nice infrared thermometer. The first API kit cost $25 and the replacement drops don‘t grow on trees. The meters sound like more fun. If reasonably priced.

this one is getting unfavorable reviews. Their NH3 meter has good reviews.
8E46B189-BFA2-4321-8574-06A93B386D94.png

Their meters can be used in freshwater & salt, so far as I see now

I'd rather have a liquid test kit, to test all water params whenever I feel the need is necessary