Albino Cory Cat

becky0323

Reaction score
Hello. I am fairly new to the hobby, and things have been going well. I now have an albino cory cat that is being quite listless and breathing quite heavily. Any ideas what is wrong or what I can do to help? The water has been tested and all levels are OK.

Thanks!

Hello. I am fairly new to the hobby, and things have been going well. I now have an albino cory cat that is being quite listless and breathing quite heavily. Any ideas what is wrong or what I can do to help? The water has been tested and all levels are OK.

Thanks!

What is "OK"?

What is the temperature?

Do you have more than one? What size is the tank and what else is in there?

Thanks!

What is "OK"?

What is the temperature?

Do you have more than one? What size is the tank and what else is in there?

The water meets all the correct readings on the test kit. The temperature is 80 degrees. We have a 20 gallon tank and there are 3 corries, 3 platys, 6 neon tetras and 5 gray and black schooling fish (not sure what they are called).

What does the test kit say are appropriate? The jungle strips say ammonia below 1 ppm and nitrite under (I think) 2 ppm is "Safe" but those levels are potentially lethal to all but the hardiest fish. I've had pet stores say water that's unsafe even by the kit's definitions was "ok". Any ammonia that isn't 0 is bad, any nitrite that isn't 0 is bad.

Yes, agree with Corleone. The symptoms fit water problems and only the right kind of test kit will tell you the numbers you need to know.

agree with the above, we'll need a bit more info to get a real diagnosis.

it's quite hard to judge these things over the net so we need you to be as full and descriptive with your answers as you can be.

if you can give us a run down on the tanks history, how long it's been running, how it was cycled, any diseases etc that you've had