Agressiveness and unequal growth in oscars

Emma87

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the hobby and I decided to start out big. I have a 720 liter tank where I initially bought 4 juvenile oscars. Two black ones, one grey and one white, the white one being slightly bigger than the others but all around maybe 5 cm in length. One of the black ones and the grey one grew alot more than the other two, in a month they were about double the size of the other two and the white one was now the smallest.

This is when the problems started, the big grey one got more and more agressive, especially towards the small black one. When the small black one started to constantly hide under a root (except at feedings, but there were never agressions at feedings anyway) the grey one instead went for the big black one. It started with nipping and ocassional chasing but grew worse over time. One day my boyfriend caught the grey one having cornernered the big black one and was really going at him.

Now we're not sure if it was all from the attack or if the big black one somehow got stuck somewhere but he had really bad like chafing on both of his sides. At this point he was just laying on the bottom of the tank so we took him out and put him in a tiny 30 liter cube (only thing we had) for him to heal. Over the next few days he didn't eat and the scales on his sides peeled off in chunks and you could see the flesh. We really thought he would die.

We kept a towel over the tank constantly so he wouldn't be sos stressed and after about a week he was still not eating but he was no longer just laying on the bottom, if we peeked we could see that he was moving around in there.