Aggresive Pearl Gourami

Birdie

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I've got 3 pearls in a rio180. it's quite heavily planted (including plenty of floating stuff), with lots of bogwood and caves. I *think* the Pearls are 1 male, 2 female - that's certainly what I asked for :lol:.

My problem is that the male is really very aggressive towards the females. I say females - I am 75% sure they are female, having driven myself boss-eyed looking at pictures on the net, and comparing them to my fish ;lol: . But I could be wrong. They have a tinge of red on the edge of the anal fin - but definitely no red throat. Their fins are obviously less flowing than the male, despite them being reasonably similar in size - although everything is relative, and I am no expert, so it could be that I am looking at less mature males, I guess. Anyway, the male chases and catches the other two, pins them down and bites them :unsure: It's not even as if he is only annoyed if they get in his face - at times he will actually seek them out.

I had hoped that it was only going a bit of initial argy-bargy, and that once territories and pecking-order had been sorted out, things would settle down. But they have been in there for over a month now, and things haven't really improved. So far, no-one has any visible marks or injuries - but I can't help feeling that it is only a matter of time before at the very least the stress causes harm even if the actual nipping doesn't.

So, what is my best plan of action?

I could return bullyboy - but if I do, will the two females then squabble amongst themselves? ( they don't at the moment - but is that only because their energies are diverted into avoiding the bully?)