Acara eggs

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Dyl123

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I have 2 electric blue acaras in my 40 gallon community tank, today the female has laid eggs and both of them are taking turns watching over the eggs, I haven’t had any experience with fish breeding so I’m needing advice, I’ve read that the fry will take between 4-7 days to hatch and I am wondering what is the best size tank to move the fry into when they are big enough and when I should do this, also what is the best food to feed them, any other advice is helpful, thanks.

Hi,
I'm not experienced with hatching and fish breeding, but I know that you can get a breeding box/hatchery.
Hatchery Box
There is an example. :)
Sorry, I don't know much more, apart from the fact that the small fry may or may not be eaten by the other fish when they hatch.

Hi,
I'm not experienced with hatching and fish breeding, but I know that you can get a breeding box/hatchery.
Hatchery Box
There is an example. :)
Sorry, I don't know much more, apart from the fact that the small fry may or may not be eaten by the other fish when they hatch.
Thanks for that, I’ll look into getting one tomorrow

Don't waste your time with a breeder box or net for cichlids. Just leave the babies with the adults until the young are swimming around the tank on their own. They are usually about 1 inch long at this stage.

Feed the babies on newly hatched brineshrimp and microworms. The following link has info on that.

Don't waste your time with a breeder box or net for cichlids. Just leave the babies with the adults until the young are swimming around the tank on their own. They are usually about 1 inch long at this stage.

Feed the babies on newly hatched brineshrimp and microworms. The following link has info on that.