A Couple Questions

Crayola105

Reaction score
:fish: Hi, I'm new. This is my first post. :rolleyes: Anyway, I have a 10gal tank I just started consisting of 4 neon tetras. I am new to this whole fishkeeping buisiness so don't yell at me for stuff I don't know about. I have used a product called Cycle to help start cycling as it said it had large amounts of nitrifying bacteria. I'm in the US so UK might not have this stuff yet. Does it work? If so does it work well? Another thing is that the neon tetras are not recognizing their flake food. Why is this? Remember, I'm new to this stuff. :fish:

I've heard mixed thoughts on cycling products, it won't hurt your tank though. Neons can be very fragile fish so I wouldn't be too suprised if they die in a brand new tank unfortunately. Do you have a test kit? If you don't, go out and buy yourself one of the liquid test kits for pH, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate (and read up on the nitrogen cycle so that you can interperet the results!) API makes a nice freshwater master kit. If you see a spike in ammonia or nitrites, your cycle isn't doing its job and you'll want to monitor your tank closely and do frequent water changes. Also, make sure you aren't feeding your fish too much while your tank cycles and don't add any more fish until you've got consistent readings of zero for ammonia and nitrites.

Since you just started your tank, your neons are probably stressed by their new environment, you could try a bit of frozen bloodworm or brine shrimp or freeze dried treat foods if they absolutely refuse to eat (remember to only feed a little!) Make sure that you continue to give them a bit of flake food as well since it's more nutritious than just treat foods.