55 Gallon Stocking And Plant Suggestions

FCWonderer

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
So I've acquired a 55 gallon that I'm going to heavily plant as a freshwater set up. I'm a bit new to larger tanks so it would be great to get a couple things answered.

1. I have 6 juvenile corys in a 10 gallon right now and am going to put them in the 55 with maybe 2-4 more, and I have decided to get a couple angels as well. Now onto the question; I'm involving my roommates on the community fish suggestions so I was wondering the different types of fish that would go with this set up. A list would be very helpful.

2. What plants would make these fish feel most comfortable or just look good in a 55?

3. I've got aquarium plant soil with a layer of sand on top and a HO double bright T5 248 lighting fixture. I'm going to get two Penguin 150s for the tank, a couple heaters and rock/driftwood decorations. Is this overkill?

Thanks for the help guys.

For Fish Id say larger tetras. not like the cardinals since they will become food for the angels.
More cories. in a 55? about 10+ would be better
Larger tetras likethe hatchets, lemons etc.

For plants:

Some crypts are a good bet.
so are echinodorus and java ferns.
java moss will also be beneficial

i agree with derp on this, but just remeber that some of the larger tetras might be fin nipper so make sure to avoid them for the angels sake, and might i reccomend the anubis plant.

I wish I knew more about tetra to know exactly what the bigger ones are. What about mollies or platys? Platys are beautiful, but how would they go with angels? All those plants sound good though.

some dont reccomend mixing livebaerers with angels because of PH level differences, angels lower, livebearers larger, but if you do mix them make sure its lower ph because livebeaers are more hardy than angels and could go through it.

ncguppy830 said: