14 Gallon Biocube

nanoreef11

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Well I am new to the marine world and I have no past knowledge of taking care of fish. I started to research on this website about the basics of saltwater. I really wanted a bigger tank like 30/40 gallons because it seemed that it would be a lot easier to take care of than a small tank. I knew that which ever tank I would settle on I would take care of it. I went to my LFS for a couple weeks in a row and i decided on a 14 gallon BioCube. It would easily fit on my dresser and it had a nice look. Also the lighting and mechanical filtration was all included which would make up for an easy installation.

10/12
-BioCube 14 gallon Aquarium
-Added about 10 gallons of saltwater
-Added 20 pounds of Arganite Live Reef Sand

fishtank.jpg

fishtank1.jpg

10/16
-LFS advised me to cycle the tank with some yellow tailed damsels
-Added 10 pounds of LR
-Timers added for the lights
-Actinic 8:00am-12pm
7:30pm-11:30pm
-Daylights 9:00am-11:00am
8:30pm-10:30pm

fishtank2.jpg

fishtank3.jpg

fishtank6.jpg

fishtank7.jpg

fishtank8.jpg

fishtank9.jpg

10/21
-Diatoms forming on LR and live sand

11/06
-Went to my LFS to get my water tested for CUC and the nitrates were a little on the high side so i will wait for everything to zero out.
-Adding CUC next week

11/13
-Water was perfect
-Purchases
-Glass Cleaning Pad
-Acrylic Cleaning Pad
-Siphon
-5 gallon water jug
-Stress Coat
-Stress Zyme
-Carbon Filter Pad
-Cleaned the Glass
-Did a 4 gallon water change
-Changed the filter pad
-Added a cap full of stress coat and stress zyme

CUC Added
-4 hermit crabs
-1 zebra turbo snail
-4 nassarius snails

12/11
-Added 2 True Percula Clownfish
-Think I am going to take the damsels back because they are very aggressive towards each other

fishtank10.jpg

fishtank11.jpg

fishtank12.jpg

12/31
-Damsels have been returned

1/08
-Blood Red Fire Shrimp Added to the tank

fishtank13.jpg

fishtank14.jpg

fishtank15.jpg

Currently-