Adding a NEW filter to a no filter tank

Yuval5520

Reaction score
IDK if it belongs here but:

i got a tank that has run for 8 months without a filter, now i want to add a filter, would it ruin my cycle?

Also

I have a Cabomba as a background plant, if the filter output is too strong will it "destroy" the shape of the cabomba?Like not being fully upright and goes to the left \ right.

No, adding a filter will benefit your cycle. Beneficial bacteria like having a large surface area to live on and lots of oxygenated water, and adding a filter does both of those things. Increasing agitation increases oxygen which both your nitrifying bacteria and your fish will benefit from.
Buy a filter, get some filter media - cotton is good to start, rinse it in removed aquarium water before installing it, and use a bacterial seeder straight into the filter if you’re really worried. Don’t let untreated tap water anywhere near it.

Most filters you can control the flow intensity and plants get their strength and structure from being pushed around by currents or wind.

if the filter output is too strong will it "destroy" the shape of the cabomba?
That would depend on what type of filter and where it is placed. I put a Tidal 55 on the side of a 29 gallon tank, it created a raging circular river current in the tank.

On Amazon, I found this interesting add on to AquaClear HOB filters, AquaClear Series HOB Filter Flow Baffle shown below.

AquaClean baffle.jpg

So you can get an oversized filter without the worries about creating strong currents.

They also sell this cool device, AquaClear HOB Filter Surface Skimmer

Aquaclear skimmer.jpg

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
That would depend on what type of filter and where it is placed. I put a Tidal 55 on the side of a 29 gallon tank, it created a raging circular river current in the tank.

On Amazon, I found this interesting add on to AquaClear HOB filters, AquaClear Series HOB Filter Flow Baffle shown below.